NACUFS Welcomes a New Generation

NACUFS Welcomes a New Generation

Increased attendance, show floor crowds and non-stop events characterized 2011 national conference.

Despite record-breaking heat outside, attendees at the 2011 national NACUFS Conference networked nonstop in the contained, air-conditioned oasis of the Texas Gaylord Resort and Convention Center on July 13-16.

Chaired by University of Oklahoma's Shirleta Benfield, the event was attended by more than 650 operators from 239 colleges and universities. Among these were an impressive 221 first-timers, a strong reminder of the membership's ability to attract and mentor a new generation into its ranks.

Beginning with pre-conference sessions dedicated to campus retail operations and purchasing, moving on to two highly engaged Showcase sessions and three days of educational seminars, few participants would even think of arguing that their time was not well rewarded and well spent.

In a surprise announcement, long-tenured executive director Joseph Spina announced he would retire at the end of 2012 (see p.6 of this issue) after 25 years of service.

NACUFS presented its top honor, the Theodore W. Minah Distinguished Service award, to Sister Maureen Schrimpe of the University of Maryland. Its Richard Lichtenfelt award went to Lisa Krausman of the University of Northern Iowa and the Daryl Van Hook Industry award went to Elisa Verhille.

Four of six finalists in the ACF-sanctioned Culinary Competition earned Gold medals, with First Place going to Chef Kris Saradpon of San Diego State University for his “Tri-Tip Trio,” beef tri-tip prepared three different ways.


View the Theodore Minah and other award presentations at [2]