Skip navigation

NACUFS Chefs Compete in 2013 ACF Championship

College and university chefs impress at ACF The list of winners

Last month in Las Vegas, college and university chefs proved themselves to be a leading force in the food industry at the ACF National Championship Collegiate Dining Challenge. The challenge, held during the 2013 ACF National Convention, was a partnership between teh ACF and NACUFS.

“The ACF National Championship Collegiate Dining Challenge is designed to celebrate the work of university chefs and their foodservice teams,” says Michael Ty, CEC, AAC, ACF national president.

"The ACF chefs I came in contact with agreed that the college and university market segment is a leading force in the food industry in terms of creativity, health and nutrition, focus on local foods, market trends, technology, and sustainability," says Mark LoParco, NACUFS president-elect, on his NACUFS blog.

“At colleges and universities all over the country, chefs are developing innovative menus that feature mouthwatering dishes with a focus on nutrition and sustainability,” says Timothy Dietzler, NACUFS outgoing president and director of dining at Villanova University. “NACUFS is thrilled with the opportunity to partner with ACF on this competition and give the industry a glimpse of the incredible culinary talent in collegiate dining.”

Here are the results:

From the University of Notre Dame, First Place Team:

  • Chef Charu Chandra Pant
  • Chef Gregory Larson

 From Yale University, Second Place Team:

  • Chef David Kuzma
  • Chef Cyril Ortigosa-Liaz

 From University of Iowa, Third Place Team:

  • Chef Anne Jacobsen
  • Chef Barry Greenberg

 And finally, in alphabetical order:

 From Rutgers University:

  • Chef Peter Imranyi
  • Chef Jeremey Pierson

 From Vanderbilt University:

  • Chef John Kelly
  • Chef Aaron Dilts

 From Villanova University:

  • Chef Vincent Alberici
  • Chef M. Werner Edler
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.