Skip navigation

HFM Announces Award Winners

HFM has announced the winners of its 2008 National Recognition Awards Programs. Award winners will be acknowledged at HFM’s 20th Anniversary Leadership Conference, which will be held September 15-19 at The Homestead in Hot Springs, VA. Among the awards is The Future Horizon Award, a new honor that is given to HFM members who serve as role models for others and perform at a level of excellence on the job and in their own profession. The year’s winners are Lenard Ayres, Jr., of St Mary’s Medical Center in Hobart, IN; Eric Eisenberg of Swedish Medical Center in Seattle; Joseph Pastore of Spring Harbor Hospital in Westbrook, ME; and Whitney Bundy, MBA, RD, of Backus Hospital in Norwich, CT. The Partnership in Leadership Award goes to HFM member facilities that demonstrated a strong commitment to on-staff operations and provided support for the HFM member foodservice director. The awardees this year are Dexter Hancock and Dr. Eula Das of DCH Regional Medical Center in Tuscaloosa, AL, and Tony Almeida and Stephen K. Jones, of Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital in New Brunswick, NJ. The Spotlight on Innovation Award is given to operator members who have implemented innovative programs that have advanced quality and implemented cost improvements in their areas of responsibility. This year’s winners are Elma Hrapovich and Marianne Katusin of Halton Healthcare in Oakville, ON, Canada and Paul Hubbard of Stony Brook (NY) University Hospital.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.